Sacred Heart of Jesus Parish

Sacraments Overview

The Roman Catholic Church offers seven Sacraments: Baptism, Reconciliation (aka Confession or Penance), Communion, Confirmation, Matrimony, Holy Orders, and Anointing of the Sick.

The Catechism of the Catholic Church describes the Sacraments as: efficacious signs of grace, instituted by Christ and entrusted to the Church, by which divine life is dispensed to us. The visible rites by which the sacraments are celebrated signify and make present the graces proper to each sacrament. They bear fruit in those who receive them with the required dispositions. (CCC1131) Sacraments are occasions where we are blessed with God's own life and grace. They are moments when we encounter God personally. 

Please see below for information about the reception of each sacrament.



The Sacrament of Baptism

"Go, therefore, and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the son, and of the Holy Spirit." Mt 28:19

Baptism is the first of the Sacraments of Initiation. Baptisms are celebrated privately or  with the parish community at weekend liturgies throughout the year. Preparation (pre-baptismal catechesis) is required for first-time parents, or parents who have not had a child baptized in five years or more. Pre-baptism classes are held as needed. 


 The Sacrament of Reconciliation

In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of our trespasses, according to the riches of his grace.” Eph 1:7

Confession is offered:

Every Saturday from 3:30 PM- 4:30 PM 

by Private Appointment


 The Sacrament of First Holy Communion

 "I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty. " Jn 6:35

This Sacrament of initiation is offered yearly at the parish, ordinarily to children in the 2nd Grade. The Sacrament of Reconciliation precedes the reception of the Eucharist for the first time. 


The Sacrament of Confirmation

  "And they were all filled with the Holy Spirit..." Acts 2:4


This final sacrament of initiation ordinarily is offered once a year at the parish to children typically in 8th grade. Adult Confirmation is celebrated in the Bridgeport Diocese ordinarily on Pentecost Sunday. Preparation is required for both. 

The Sacrament of Holy Matrimony

"Therefore what God has joined together, let no one separate."  Mk 10:9

Engaged couples should make arrangements with the parish at least nine months prior to the desired Wedding date for Marriage Preparation.


 The Sacrament of Holy Orders

"I say to you, you are Peter and on this Rock I shall build my Church." Mt 16:18 

This Sacrament conveys the mission entrusted by Christ to his Apostles to men of each generation through the laying on of hands; this sacrament has three distinct orders, each of which confers a sacramental character: diaconate, priesthood, and episcopacy.


 The Sacrament of Anointing of the Sick

 "Let them call the elders of the church to pray over them and anoint them with oil in the name of the Lord." Jm 5:14

This Sacrament  of the Anointing of the Sick is offered to anyone seriously ill, physically or emotionally.  

Communion is taken to the sick of our parish who are Homebound, in Hospitals and Nursing Homes.